Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

The Village at Gainesville FoundationThe Village at Gainesville Foundation announced 10 recipients of its Associate Scholarship Fund. Established in 2013, the scholarship is awarded to hourly, non-management associates at the retirement community, to help complete their educations.

The 2018 recipients are Lynn Simpson, Kelley Boyette, Ingrid Bozeman, Mary Saltzgiver, Maddie Welton, Silvia Humana-Yanqui, Precious Martinez, Allison Sickels, Emily Jacobs and Veronica Washington.

The total donated and awarded this year is $19,920, with award amounts ranging from $570 to $3,450. The amount has increased every year since the scholarship was established in 2015, with the foundation awarding a total of $60,920 to 20 different associates since then.

Resident donors also created an endowment fund for associate scholarships, called the “Dr. Madelyn Lockhart Endowment Fund”, that has raised over $10,000.

“These scholarships recognize The Village at Gainesville’s outstanding associates,” said David Kremer, Foundation Director. “They serve as a reward and an incentive to the recipients to complete their educations.”

The awards are determined by a committee of resident and management donors who evaluate applications and make the final selections.

Gifts of all sizes are welcomed throughout the year to either the associate scholarship fund or the Dr. Madelyn Lockhart Endowment Fund.